Thu Apr 21 2016

wet load

Having issues with wet load on one unit in a facility. All solenoids rebuilt, traps and strainers clear. Heat exchanger is new as well as venturi. At a loss. I have over 15 years experience and have always solved leak test, BD etc issues without fail. Vacuum is low and cannot run leak test due to this. However, unit has always had poor vacuum due to low water pressure. Any feedback would be great - thxs

RE: Sterilizers/Autoclaves Report Post
Thu Apr 21 2016Reply from Dean
Dean

I have seen this several times. In instances that the steam seemed to be okay but the water pressure was just too low, we installed a booster pump that ran to increase the water pressure while on any evac cycle to increase the vacuum.

In other cases where we had seriously wet (not saturated, but wet) steam, we had to have a steam filter/trap installed ahead of the sterilizer's supply.

In both scenarios, we were able to take care of the wet pack issue.

Dean Stephens EET, CBET, CRES
Senior Biomedical Equipment Tech
Intermediate Imaging Equipment Tech
(Not my first rodeo...)

Thu Apr 21 2016Reply from ExSteris

How about the HeatX check valves. Have the seats on steam and exhaust been done?

Fri Apr 22 2016Reply from Cbet_Matt
Cbet_Matt
If the related check valves have been replaced on the heat exchanger and the water pressure is good. You might want the evaluate the flow through the heat exchanger. I had a unit with low vacuum and I replaced all the other check valves and the heat exchanger and the vacuum increased dramatically. The heat exchanger comes fully ready to install into a Chimeron or 400 series. My email cbet_us@yahoo.com

Matt

Fri Apr 22 2016Reply from Steri-Tech