Sat Feb 27 2021

Is it possible to temporarily operate this unit on an uninteruptible power supply for a computer?

First off, I'm not a medical professional, I am an electromechanical technician and mechanical engineer so if I'm missing any medical reasons why this idea won't work please tell me. I need to know if it is possible to operate an EverFlo unit, or really any concentrator off of a PC UPS. It doesn't need to work for long, just enough time for someone to be able to set up a tank or get help in the event of a power failure, basically 10 to 20 minutes. I know they sell big expensive generators for this, but those are for 36 hour or more outages. If my calculations are accurate, the EverFlo has a peak consumption of 408 Watts and according to the units spec sheet, typical is 350 watts. Assuming a 25% loss in power for conversion from DC to AC a 900 watt UPS should be able operate the unit for a little over an hour, Does this seem reasonable? Am I missing something that would prevent this from working? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

RE: Oxygen Concentrator Report Post
Wed Mar 03 2021Reply from Chris-CBET

harmonics might be a factor, also the large surge in current draw at startup. Otherwise it shouldn't be an issue. 4A isn't much

Wed Jun 02 2021Reply from vjjohn